Accredited Standards Committee C63[®] Electromagnetic Compatibility <u>Subcommittee 5</u> - Immunity Testing and Measurements Approved Minutes

> Chair: <u>Ed Hare</u> Vice Chair: <u>Steve Whitesell</u> Secretary: <u>Jeffrey Silberberg</u>

October 26, 2010 3:00 PM – 4:50 PM Society of Automotive Engineers Automotive Headquarters Troy, MI

The following SC5 members were present:

Ed Hare, Chair Steve Whitesell, Vice Chair Jeff Silberberg, Secretary Poul Andersen Masud Attayi Stephen Berger Dan Hoolihan Don Heirman H R Hofmann Victor Kuczynski Ralph Showers

The following guests observed the meeting:

Dennis Camell

Zhong Chen Bob DeLisi Dean Ghizzone Bill Hurst Randy Long Janet O'Neil Richard Worley

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:15 PM by Ed Hare, Subcommittee 5 Chairman. The participants introduced themselves.
- 2. On a motion by Mr. Heirman, seconded by Mr. Whitesell, the draft agenda submitted by the Chair was approved.
- 3. Mr. Andersen provided information about the meeting facility.
- 4. The Chair showed the IEEE Patent policy slides. No patent or IP rights relevant to SC5 activities were disclosed.
- 5. The Chair showed slides that outlined the C63® participation fee schedule. Mr. Hoolihan reported that all of those in attendance at the meetings had met the financial obligations to attend.
- 6. The Chair announced the membership of Subcommittee 5 had not changed and that there were no new applications for membership.
- 7. The Chair announced that draft minutes were not available for approval and that the minutes from the last meeting would be approved by an email vote following the meeting.
- 8. The Chair announced that under the C63® succession plan, a new Chair would be needed for 2011. Mr. Whitesell, the current Vice Chair indicated a willingness to serve. Mr. Hare indicated a willingness to serve as Vice Chair. Mr. Silberberg indicated that he could serve as Secretary until a permanent Secretary could be identified. The Chair emphasized that a recommendation for new officers would be made by the Subcommittee and approved by the Main Committee at the April meeting.
- 9. Mr. Berger reported that the content of C63.9 (office equipment immunity) was stable and that no revisions were underway or needed.

- 10. Mr. Heirman reported that C63.15 (immunity measurement and instrumentation) was stable and that no maintenance was underway.
- 11. Mr. Heirman reported on the status of C63.16 (ESD). As previously reported, the standard was published in 1993, but is administratively withdrawn. A discussion of the history of who had worked on it over the years took place. After extensive discussion, Mr. Hoolihan made a motion to form a Working Group to draft changes to the document and to prepare a PINS. The motion was seconded by Mr. Kuczynski. SC5 approved the motion by voice vote. The Chair appointed Richard Worley, Dave Staggs, Don Heirman, Steve Berger, Dan Hoolihan and Victor Kuczynski to serve on the WG.
- 12. Mr. Berger reported on the progress made on C63.20 (nuclear power-plant immunity). The working group consists of Mr. Berger as Chair, Kermit Phipps and Phil Keebler. The Chair observed that the group seems to be heavily weighted with EPRI participants and he encouraged Mr. Berger to improve the balance of the Working Group. Mr. Berger indicated that meetings were planned in the January and February time frame and that draft text is expected at the end of 2011.
- 13. Mr. Berger provided a report on the work of the C63.24 (on-site immunity) Working Group. Mr. Silberberg first gave an overview or the status of C63.18, a similar standard for on-site testing of the immunity of medical devices and equipment. The C63.24 Working Group consists of Mr. Berger as Chair, Mr. Hodes, Mr. Hoolihan, Mr. Keebler, Mr. Phipps and Mr. Silberberg. Mr. Berger outlined reasons that a more specific approach to the determination of field strength was needed than what is contained in C63.18. He reported that draft text of C63.24 was expected by the next meeting.
- 14. Mr. Heirman provided an overview of IEEE and other EMC activities related to the developing smart grid technology. He indicated that the smart grid is very complex and that the most critical part of EMC of the smart grid is related to immunity. A working group consisting of Mr. Whitesell, Mr. Ramie, Mr. Andersen, Mr. DeLisi, Mr. Camell, Mr. Berger and Mr. Hare was appointed.
- 15. The Chair reviewed the action items. He reported that he is working on completing the work on the Subcommittee 5 pages on the C63.org web site.
- 16. The Chair announced that the next Subcommittee 5 meeting is tentatively scheduled for May 3, 2011 at ETS-Lindgren at Cedar Park, TX.
- 17. The Chair adjourned the meeting at 5:00 PM.